The penalties for a drunk driving charge in Washington are very severe. However, if you are charged with a DUI while transporting a minor, the penalties are greatly enhanced.
Washington Law on DUI While Transporting a Minor
If you are arrested for drunk driving while transporting a passenger aged 16 years or younger, you will be considered to be transporting a minor and face much greater penalties. Some of the enhanced penalties that you face include:
- Child Protective Services. Law enforcement officers must contact Child Protective Services (CPS) if you are charged with this type of DUI. CPS will investigate the case and depending upon the circumstances of your arrest and home life, the agency may seek removal of your child from your care.
- Ignition Interlock Device. You will be required to install an ignition interlock device if you are convicted of a DUI while transporting a minor. The length of time that you will be required to have the device in your car is much longer than those arrested for an ordinary DUI. With an ignition interlock device, you will be unable to start your vehicle if you have a blood alcohol concentration above 0.025 percent.
- Monetary Fines. You face additional fines for carrying a minor. The amount that you will have to pay depends upon your driving history.
- Increased Jail Sentence. If you are convicted of a felony DUI or a DUI involving injury while transporting a minor, you could face up to one year additional jail time.
To learn about the specific penalties you face, you will want to consult an attorney.
Contact a King County DUI Attorney
If you have any questions about your DUI charge, you will want to contact an experienced attorney. Contact the attorneys at Wolff Criminal Defense by calling 425-284-2000 and learn about your options and possible defenses.