A DUI attorney can provide vital legal assistance to individuals who have been arrested for a Washington State DUI. If you are found driving with a blood alcohol content of .08 or more, you may be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol. A Washington State DUI charge is a serious offense that comes with major penalties, including jail, fines, an interlock device an that can severely impact your professional and personal life. Even refusal to consent to chemical testing for a DUI incurs a minimum one-year license suspension and fine. Therefore, individuals charged with a Washington State DUI should never attempt to navigate the legal system without the assistance of a DUI attorney.
Seattle DUI attorneys can offer drivers the aggressive representation they need to ensure that they receive the best possible legal and financial outcome. They can also help you navigate through the legal and civil process. If you have been charged with a Washington State DUI, consult with a DUI attorney regarding your legal options.
First Washington State DUI Offense A first Washington State DUI offense comes with automatic jail time. Individuals who have a blood alcohol content of less than .15 will receive a jail sentence of at least 24 hours (or 15 days of electronic monitoring). It also entails a 90 day license suspension and a one year ignition interlock requirement. When a person’s BAC is .15 or above, minimum jail time rises to 48 hours (or 30 days of electronic home monitoring) and a license suspension for one year,. Also severe are the financial repercussions of a first Washington State DUI offense. Individuals with a BAC of less than .15 will pay anywhere from $865.50 to $5000. The minimum fine amount increases to $1120.50 in cases where the blood alcohol content is .15 or higher. In addition, along with all of the above, a person would be required to obtain an alcohol/drug evaluation, complete all recommended treatment, attend a DUI victim's impact panel and obtrain SR 22 (high risk) insurance
Second Washington State DUI offense necessitates the same court requirements pertaining to alcohol and drug evaluation, SR22 insurance, and ignition interlock device installment. However, the penalties for jail time, monetary fees, and license suspension significantly increase. Convicted second offense below .15 Washington State DUI drivers face a minimum of 30 days in jail, as well as 60 to mandatory days of wearing an electronic home monitoring device. Fines begin at $1120.50 and may escalate to $5000. Moreover, individuals are slapped with a license suspension of 2 years. For people on a second offense Washington DUI conviction with a breath or blood test above .15, face a minimum of 45 days of incarceration followed by 90 days of electronic home monitoring.
Third Washington State DUI Offense Should an individual receive a third Washington State DUI conviction, he will be sentenced to a minimum of 90 days in jail, which may increase to one full year. A third offense also necessitates 120 to 150 days of wearing an electronic home monitoring device. Fee penalties start at $1970.50 and may rise to $5000. In addition, anyone charged with a third Washington State DUI will have their license suspended for anywhere between 3 and 4 years. As with a first and second conviction, they will also be subjected to alcohol and drug education classes, required to purchase SR22 insurance, and forced to install an ignition interlock device at their own cost.
For a detailed explanation of the mandatory minimums for a Washington DUI Defense, a person can go the Washington court's website and obtaining a DUI sentencing grid. If you have been charged with a Seattle DUI, give us a call or drop us an email at Wolff Defense. We have been defending drivers accused of a Washington State DUI suspects for over 12 years and are available 7 days a week to discuss your situation.