One of the most stress causing parts of being charged with a DUI is all the financial difficulties it places on you, some of which feel totally unnecessary.
When you are arrested for a DUI and blow over the legal limit, or refuse a breath test, you face two separate license suspensions. The first is the administrative suspension that occurs immediately after your arrest. The second comes as the result of a criminal conviction. (You can read more in depth information about those here.)
If you get both suspensions, Washington law states that you will get day-for-day credit applied to the second one. Many times that means that you get full credit for your second suspension. The DOL has been following this rule, but they suspend your license again and then apply the full credit. This means that your license gets suspended and is immediately eligible for relicensing again. Except you have to pay the $150 fee a second time, even if you just got relicensed a week ago!
Thankfully, there's currently a bill in the Washington State Legislature, HB 1504, that fixes this problem. It's a pretty long and substantial bill that has been bouncing around for a while, but is very likely to become law this year. One thing in particular that this bill addresses is stopping the DOL from charging you that second $150 fee when you're already getting full credit for a suspension.
It may seem like a small victory, but when the entire DUI process can cost you a lot of money, reducing the financial stress wherever possible will always add up.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment